Back in Black (and purple)

Hello, Tim here

Well, this is a post of mixed emotions. On the one hand, I’m very sad to say that I’ll be leaving The Training Museum traineeship much earlier than planned. On the other, I’m overjoyed to tell you that I’m not leaving Colchester + Ipswich Museums. For, as of tomorrow, I’ll be a permanent employee with the Ipswich Visitor Services team!

I will miss a great many things about Colchester. I will miss my fellow Colchester Trainee Esme (ironically I will now be seeing MORE of my other Trainee colleagues), the Colchester staff, the Castle and (of course) getting to dress up as a Celt.

Yet, I am looking forward to making new friendships and connections with the collections and staff in Ipswich. Knowing some of them already, I am sure it will not be long before I feel as at home with them as I have done in Colchester.

I will not prattle on about what I will be doing as a member of Ipswich Visitor Services, as Mark and Michael have already done that very eloquently through their blogging (and at the moment they know a great deal more about the intricacies of the role than I do!).

I feel really lucky to have been given the opportunity to learn so much about museums. I now understand the service in a holistic way, which I never could have even imagined before. The traineeship helped me to realise what path I want to take with my future career, but also set me well and truly on it, by giving me the chance to successfully apply for my new job at Ipswich. What more could one hope for?

Tim shoes
I always was rather partial to a bit of black and purple.

All that’s left is to say thank you to all the people who have helped me on my journey through this traineeship. Particular mention must go to the Colchester staff and Esme – I am certain that I would not have made it here without you guys. Thank you for being there for me whenever I needed help or just someone to talk to. I wish everyone the best for the future. As I am still a part of the museums however, it is not like I am disappearing off the face of the earth! Who knows, I may even return to, er, “grace” this blog and let you know how I’m getting on.

If you fancy paying a visit to Wool.i.am in Ipswich Museum, checking out Christchurch Mansion or coming to meet the Clangers and Bagpuss at Ipswich Art Gallery, you might come across Mark or Michael. But now you might also see me, because odds are I’ll be there – back in black (and purple).

ips17
You said it.

Leave a Reply

