Happy Halloween 2016

Howdy all,

I can’t actually believe Halloween has been and gone already. ‘It’ll soon be Christmas’ is a phrase I’m not prepared for.

For those of you that don’t know, for the past six weeks or so I have been working one day a week at The Munnings Art Museum in Dedham, organising their Halloween event. Before I continue, I simply cannot take full credit, as I worked alongside Alex who has sadly left the organisation for pastures new up North, best of luck bud.

So the event we created was based upon the studies and final work of Munnings, ‘The Haunted Room’. I must confess, before volunteering at The Munnings Art Museum I was a tad apprehensive about what I had gotten myself into. I didn’t really know anything about art or have a particular interest in any artist. Through working with the team however, and feeding off of their obvious passion for what they do, I have been converted into a bit of a fan of Munnings. That’s the biggest compliment I can pay them, it’s high praise indeed.

We were involved in all aspects of the event, starting with the initial research behind the portrait, and what we discovered was actually very interesting. One of the stories that we believed inspired Munnings to paint what he did is a real corker. I’ll include a link here, as it’s rather long.

We designed a route around the lovely house, where we would have two of Munning’s studies in each room, along with a part of the story read out by staff. It all culminated in a big reveal of the final piece. The house was lit by lamps and LED candles, and had unnerving themed music playing in the background.

This all took place last Friday and was a genuine success. It felt exactly how I wanted it to, and everything went so smoothly.

Ultimately, I’m a bit sad that it’s all over, but it was great experience and another string to my museum bow. I would just like to give thanks to everyone at The Munnings Art Museum for making me feel so comfortable, for giving me creative freedom and, last but not least, for the lifts to and from Manningtree station. You saved me a very long hike!

Until next time Plums.

Leave a Reply

